- Court
- High Court of Delhi
- Decided
- 19 August 2026
- Bench
- Anish Dayal
- Case no.
- MAC.APP. 217/2019
Follow Delhi High CourtFollow Anish Dayal
Judgment
O R D E R %
19.08.2026
¶1This appeal has been filed by the claimant seeking enhancement of compensation awarded by the Motor Accident Claims Tribunal Saket Courts, New Delhi ('MACT/Tribunal') by order dated 04th July 2018, in Petition No. 75305/2016 at Rs. 6,71,100/- along with interest @ 9% per annum.
¶2Mr. S.N. Parashar, counsel appearing for appellant seeks enhancement on the following counts: i. Firstly, that the functional disability be enhanced from 40% to 66% at the very least, which was certified by the Disability Certificate as the injured was working as an auto mechanic; ii. Secondly, that no future prospects were awarded and he is entitled to The authenticity of the order can be re-verified from Delhi High Court Order Portal by scanning the QR code shown above. future prospects at 40%; iii. Thirdly, the income should have been considered as a minimum wage of a skilled worker at Rs. 8,100/- instead of the minimum wage of an unskilled person, which has been taken by MACT; iv. Fourthly, the Tribunal did not award compensation for medical expenses. v. Fifthly, the amounts awarded for the non-pecuniary heads were depressed and inadequate.
¶3Mr. Shyam Singh Yadav, counsel appearing for Insurance Company, states that the functional disability has been assessed by the MACT in accordance with the correct principles. He further submits that no compensation towards medical expenses ought to have been awarded, as no medical bills were produced.
¶4Moreover, the amounts awarded under the non-pecuniary heads were adequate, as Rs.1,00,000/- was awarded each towards pain and suffering and loss of amenities, each, and an additional sum of Rs.38,000/- was awarded towards special diet and conveyance.
¶5It is noted that disability certificate was not proved, and no evidence regarding the medical disability was led, except for the discharge card from Sonipat Hospital.
¶6In fact, in evidence by way of affidavit filed on behalf of the claimant, the aspect of medical bills had been scored out.
¶7In this regard, what needs to be seen is whether the assessment by the MACT was appropriate or not. This aspect has been taken into account in paragraph no. 16 of the MACT Award. The authenticity of the order can be re-verified from Delhi High Court Order Portal by scanning the QR code shown above.
¶8Therein, it is noted that the claimant had suffered 66% permanent disability in relation to the right lower limb. He was aged 35 years on the date of the accident and claimed to be working as an auto mechanic, although no proof in this regard was filed.
¶9The MACT, therefore, considered functional disability of 40%, taking into account principles enunciated in Raj Kumar v. Ajay Kumar (2011) 1 SCC 343 and noting that the claimant could have still done the work of an auto mechanic, but with some difficulty.
¶10This Court is not inclined to interfere with the said assessment, which appears to be appropriate and well-reasoned.
¶11As regards the assessment of the benchmark income, the minimum wages applicable to an unskilled person in Haryana were taken into consideration. This may not be appropriate, considering that the claimant had stated that he was working as a mechanic and that his avocation has also been taken into account by the MACT.
¶12Accordingly, the minimum wages applicable to a skilled person in Haryana ought to be taken into account, which were Rs.380.76/- per day, amounting to a monthly income of Rs. 11,422.80/- per month, as on the date of the accident.
¶13As per principles enunciated in National Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Pranay Sethi (2017) 16 SCC 680, future prospects at the rate of 40% ought to be granted, considering that the claimant was 35 years of age. A multiplier of 16 shall be applied.
¶14The claim for compensation towards medical expenses was rightly rejected, there being no evidence in support thereof. As regards the non-pecuniary heads, the amounts awarded towards these heads have been The authenticity of the order can be re-verified from Delhi High Court Order Portal by scanning the QR code shown above. adequately granted.
¶15The revised compensation is as under: Sr. No. Heads Awarded by the Tribunal Awarded by this Court PECUNIARY LOSS
¶1Expenditure on Medical Bills and medical treatment (A) NIL NIL
¶2Expenditure on conveyance, special diet and attendant (B) Rs. 38,000/-Rs. 38,000/-
¶5Income of injured per month(E) Rs. 5,639/-Rs. 11,422.80/-
¶7Add: Future prospects (F) NIL 40% of Rs. 11,422.80/-= Rs. 15,990.80/-
¶8Multiplier (G)
¶9Functional disability (H) 40% 40%
¶10Loss of future income/future earnings [(E+F) x 12 x G x H] = (I) Rs. 4,33,075/- (rounded to Rs. 4,33,100/-) Rs. 12,28,093.44/- (rounded to Rs. 12,28,100/-) NON-PECUNIARY LOSS
¶11Pain and suffering (J) Rs. 1,00,000/-Rs. 1,00,000/-
¶12Loss of amenities of life (K) Rs. 1,00,000/-Rs. 1,00,000/-
¶13Total compensation (A + B + + I+ J+ K) = (M) Rs. 6,71,100/-Rs. 14,66,100/-
¶14Interest awarded 9% per annum 9% per annum
¶15Enhanced compensation Rs. 7,95,000/-
¶16Accordingly, the compensation is enhanced by Rs. 7,95,000/-.
¶17The enhanced compensation, along with accrued interest thereon, be deposited by the Insurance Company within the next 6 weeks, and it will be released in favour of the appellant. Upon such deposit, the amount be released to claimants within 2 weeks thereafter.
¶18Accordingly, the appeal is disposed of. Pending applications, if any, are rendered infructuous. The authenticity of the order can be re-verified from Delhi High Court Order Portal by scanning the QR code shown above.
¶19Order be uploaded on the website of this Court.
ANISH DAYAL, J AUGUST 19, 2026/RK/bp
The authenticity of the order can be re-verified from Delhi High Court Order Portal by scanning the QR code shown above.
Case details
Parties and counsel
* IN THE HIGH COURT OF DELHI AT NEW DELHI # CNR No. DLHC010101402019 + MAC.APP. 217/2019 SURENDER .....Appellant Through: Mr. S.N. Parashar, Advocate with Mr. Ritik Singh, Advocate. versus AFSARUM &ORS(NATIONAL INSURANCE CO LTD) .....Respondent Through: Mr. Shyam Singh Yadav, Adv for respondent no.3. CORAM: HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE ANISH DAYAL
Source: High Court of Delhi, through the eCourts High Court services, via the Indian High Court Judgments open dataset by Dattam Labs (CC BY 4.0). Text was extracted from the official PDF and may contain conversion errors. Check the official PDF before relying on it.